Tuesday, September 8, 2020

ON THINGS LIKE THEY USED TO BE

AND SOME LIKE THEY ARE NOW.

I have a multitude of thoughts running through my mind.  I try to write them down when I think of them, cause if I don't they run right out of my mind and I forget to post about them. So, I will post a couple of thoughts today of some things I remembered to write down.  I'll even number them.

1. BLM.  I was raised in a farming and ranching community.  When I see or hear these letters I automatically think  Bureau of Land Management.  And I always will..... that means period...

2. TV reporters.  I was around when TV reporters reported the news. Just the news.  If you wanted commentary, you went somewhere else. Reporters like Walter Cronkite on CBS, Chet Huntley and David Brinkley on NBC.  I liked them and viewed them regularly. I actually met David Brinkley once, back in the 1960's.  Even though our paths crossed, he was not there to interview me so it was a brief moment in time and then gone. I remember that now these many decades later. He probably forgot I even existed moments after the meeting was over.  Still, I liked his style, second to Walters.

3. Do you ever watch those shows on TV where they are remodeling houses.  It seems to me there are two styles.  Ultra modern, whatever that means, or southwest design.  And it seems to me that there is a lot of southwest design going around. Can't say that I blame them, I like southwest design also.  Course, I was born and raised and live here.  Lucky me.

4. I keep hearing the talking heads on TV now mention the A listers or the Elite.  Just how did these people become elite? They have a profession for the most part playing someone that may or may not exist. A good movie or play is essential for most of us to escape the rigors and cares of the world for a short time. And those that can entertain us in that manner and do so in a good manner are essential. Just like a Dr. or lawyer or someone of any other profession such as a welder or plumber or truck driver or school teacher. Just pick a profession. All should be A Listers or elite, not just some one that feels they are superior to the rest of us, just because they can play act like fake people.

5. And of course I have to end on a political note.  The news is full of stories of President Trump calling veterans losers. But the news also quotes an unnamed source. Just have to wonder who that would be.  There is miles of footage of the President saying things that are considered by many to be inappropriate.  I can almost, and I said almost, be sure that he did not say this since there is no one who filmed or recorded this. If it was recorded or filmed, then put it out there in front of the public for people to see, in full context.  It is well known his feelings about John McCain and some have made reference to this.  I know the President says a lot of things that he shouldn't say, I just have skeptical feelings about this one. And Michael Cowen. Is he to be believed. He admitted in an interview that he had lied about a lot of things, but he was not lying now. And why was he not lying?  he was ask.  Well, because they threatened his wife if he didn't tell the truth.  So, is he telling the truth, or is he lying to save his wife? Or a combination of both. Time will tell. We can always hope.

AND THAT'S THE VIEW FROM THE DITCH BANK





Saturday, August 29, 2020

DOES ANY ONE REALLY CARE

 THERE IS A LOT GOING ON RIGHT NOW.  NO, NOT AT MY HOUSE, THAT IS PRETTY MUCH THE SAME AS IT HAS BEEN FOR A LONG TIME, BUT OUT IN THE WORLD. SO I AM GOING TO COMMENT ON A COUPLE OF THINGS AND THEN HAVE TO WONDER OF ANY ONE REALLY CARES. 

1. This election coming up in a few weeks staring Trump vs. Biden and a few lesser players. If some of the lesser players could get the funds and the media attention that the two main opponents have, maybe neither one of them would win and the presidency and the results would be a shock heard around the world.  No one really cares about them, but one can dream, any way.

2.  I saw a TV spot that was a quote from I think Joe Biden. Correct me if I am wrong, but he was commenting on how the country would be if he won the presidency as opposed to Trump. He called it Joe Bidens world as opposed to Donald Trumps world.  My thought at the time and still is, is this is not either one of their worlds, but the people's world. Your world and mine and it is up to us to make it so, regardless of who is in Washington.

3. I'm really getting tired of police officers being called to something criminal going on and when they tell the perpetrator to stop and put up his hands or what ever they tell him and he refuses to obey but continues to do what ever he wanted to do and then he gets shot and then the people "protest" and make the police the victim and then they burn and loot and destroy the city and then they are heralded as heroes because they protested for racial justice. Did it never occur to any one that if the victim had just obeyed the police order they would not have been shot in the first place. Have the police been out of line?  Sure, on occasion. Are some of them racially motivated. Again, I am sure some of them are. But still, if you are not breaking the law, the police officers would not be called in the first place.  Think about that, a minute. 

4. Pro Sports.  The players in pro sports have cancelled some of their games in protest of a police shooting.  While I have my opinion about a cop shooting, I really don't care about the pro sports people protesting. If they feel that refusing to play a game because of that, then cut their pay for that game. And all subsequent games that they refuse to play.  Actually, they are like a lot of the politicians and the hollywood fake people, the populace of this country are just trying to get by, and really don't care how they feel. Most of them are so wealthy they have no clue about how the rest of us live any way. At least I don't care about them and their concerns. They don't affect me in any way.

5.I will end this rant with a quote I saw and liked.   There is not enough room in your mind for both worry and faith. You must decide which one gets to live there.

AND THAT'S THE VIEW FROM THE DITCH BANK


Saturday, August 8, 2020

SOME ADDITIONAL OBSERVATIONS

 I'M GETTING OLD, AND I'M OK WITH THAT.  BUT PART OF GETTING OLD, OR MAYBE PART OF ME GETTING OLD, IS THAT THINGS CHANGE AND I DON'T LIKE CHANGE SO MUCH.   Like this blog post. I went on blogger this afternoon to find the format has been "updated". I'm not in favor so much of the update. So, I was told I could change back to the old format, but that was going away on September 1, so why bother.  Just learn to use the new format, or quit blogging.  I assume that the few people who manage to read my drivel would just as soon that I do quit.  But then again, they don't have to read it so I guess I won't.  But I don't like change.

Well, except for one kind of change. You know the kind. The one that jingles in your pocket. And that seems to be going away.  Why? Well that was the initial purpose of this post, until I got on and found the format had changed.  A couple of things about money.  Other than there is never enough, whether you are on welfare or a millionaire. In a  car wash we like to use, in a city not so far away, a few weeks past wouldn't take our money. Nope, they had to have a credit card or a debit card. Cash was not acceptable. When ask why? they said, and I quote,  By order of the governor.  Nope, not true. Well it is true what they told us but not true that the governor made that order. So we had them open the gate and we drove out in a dirty vehicle.  Then a few weeks later ( notice how every thing is a few weeks, another sign of aging) we went to a gas station we use in a city a little closer than the car wash city and was met with a sign on the door, correct change only. When ask why, they said there is a coin shortage. We have since seen a similar sign on a local burger joint that we patronize from time to time.  We also have heard news items about a coin shortage and an abundance of reasons of why.  Some of those reasons;  The federal mint is not minting as many coins as they used to do; Banks are not giving them out because people are buying online and using plastic at local stores; the covid-19 crisis has created a shortage of hard cash flow; and people are hoarding them and they are not in circulation like they should be.  Well, OK, what ever the reason, I'll just save mine for a future time when they may be acceptable again.  Mean while, I'll continue to pay cash, or by on line or whatever is convenient at the time.  Maybe I'm part of the problem.

And finally, you know I can't post a blog without sniping at the tics a bit.  Sometimes I wish we had a good choice for president. And sometimes I wonder if we ever will again. I don't care for Biden. He's been in politics for 40 or 50 years and hasn't solved much yet, so why should we depend on him to do any thing good as president? And whoever he picks as a running mate, will not be good for the country, just good for Joe. Trump had a strong economy going before the covid hit, and he did do some good things for the country, but he has had to fight every day against those who oppose him.  If congress would work as hard for the country as they are to impeach Trump, and if Trump would keep his mouth and tweets shut, maybe we could get something accomplished.  BUT I SUPPOSE THAT IS TOO MUCH TO ASK.

AND THAT'S THE VIEW FROM THE DITCH BANK

Saturday, July 11, 2020

OBSERVATIONS AND OPINIONS

THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT IS CHANGING SO FAST THAT IT IS HARD TO KEEP UP, SO I WON'T.  BUT FROM TIME TO TIME I WILL POST A FEW THINGS THAT I NOTICE IN MY UNEDUCATED MIND. 
1. First I will open a can of worms. One called DACA.  My remembrance of this is that while president, Obama instituted the DACA program. This was scheduled to end in 2018. Early on in his Presidency, Trump called an end to DACA and pro  posed a plan for the program that would give the Dreamers a path to citizen ship. The Democrats in the house rejected that plan and that gave way to protests and so forth.  Now, President Trump has again offered a plan for the dreamers with a path to citizen ship. Nancy Pelosi and her followers have once again rejected that. They chose to trash the president for not doing any thing. One has to wonder why.
2. I didn't vote for Hillary and now I won't vote for Biden.  I was not a Trump fan in the beginning and am not really one now, and just have to wins that there was a better choice in either party.  Still, Trump as brash as he is, has tried to do some good things and has been rejected every time he tries, it seems like.   And
3. Why is congress so interested in Trump's tax returns.  It's his money. I'm more interested in what the congress does with my money than I am about Trumps money. I, like a lot of people, have to wonder how someone can go to congress and become a multi millionaire on a salary they complain is not enough. 
4. During this pandemic we are being ask to wash our hands, use sanitizer, social distance and wear a mask.  Well, I have to wonder, didn't people wash their hands before this?  And I have been using sanitizer and social distancing since I had a kidney transplant in 2001. The only thing different then form now is the wearing of a mask. So, I wear a mask when required in public.  I am back on dialysis so I wear one 5 hours a day on the day I am there. What I don't understand is someone wearing a mask, in their private car, by themselves, while driving down the highway. That I refuse to do.  And to see two people, a married couple who sleeps together, ( I suppose) who wear a mask while in a car or walking down a sidewalk, social distancing from every one else, holding hands and wearing masks.  Don't compute for me.
STAY TUNED
AND THAT'S THE VIEW FROM THE DITCH BANK

Thursday, July 2, 2020

MORE OPINIONS

I'M GLAD I DON'T TRY TO WRITE A DAILY BLOG. MY LIFE IS TOO DULL TO MENTION ON A DAILY BASIS AND THE POLITICAL WORLD CHANGES SO FAST THESE DAYS THAT IT IS HARD TO KEEP UP, EVEN ON A WEEKLY BASIS, MUCH LESS A DAILY BASIS.  HOWEVER, I WILL TRY TO SAY A FEW THINGS TODAY.
1. The rule with this pandemic virus going around is to wear a mask and stay 6 feet from any one. That is called social distancing.  Staying 6 feet from people may work for distance, but there can't be any thing social about it.
2. And speaking of masks.  I have to wear one to my medical appointments three days a week for about 5 hours. it comes off when I leave.  My wife and I will wear a mask when we enter a store, because it is demanded of us, but the State government, and I guess a little common sense.  But now our governor has mandated that people will be fined $100.00 if caught not wearing a mask in public.This is not a law, but a health order.  Not sure she can just impose that fine just because she wants too.  As money hungry as she is, I'm sure she would like to collect a lot of those fines.
3. On a similar note, I refuse to live in fear. I will go where I have to go, the emphasis on HAVE to go, and do what I need to do. I refuse to live trembling in my house in fear that if I go our I may catch the virus. I will take necessary precautions, but I will not huddle down in fear.
4. OK  a couple of things of a lighter note. You have seen those facebook postings that go "Could you live here with millions of dollars ( here usually being in the country ) but you could never watch football again? Just tell me where the house is and send me the millions and watch and see.  Foot note. I don't watch football any way, so it wouldn't even be a sacrifice on my part.
5. And finally, when I was younger I used to see these old men with bushy eyebrows, nose and ear hair and I would say   I will never be like that.  Well, I don't have the bushy eyebrows, but I really have to watch the other two things and keep them trimmed.  So, if any young person is reading this drivel, never look at us old timers and say, I will never be like that.  Cause you just may be like that.
AND THAT'S THE VIEW FROM THE DITCH BANK

Thursday, June 18, 2020

SOME RANDOM THOUGHTS

I'VE HAD A LOT OF RANDOM THOUGHTS ON MY MIND LATELY: SP GUESS I'LL MENTION JUST A FEW. AND BELIEVE ME THEY ARE RANDOM, AND MAYBE EVEN SCATTERED.
1.  Hillary Clinton just was on the news saying she supports Joe Biden.  Elizabeth was on the news saying she supports someone else. I forget who.  My thought, who really cares who either one of these women supports. 
2. There has been two news stories of black men being killed by the police. Both were captured on video. The first, George Floyd was wanton murder by the police officer. In the video you could watch him and he was actually enjoying what he was doing. And he was wrong and needs to be punished to the fullest extent of the law.  The other one was a man who was drunk and passed out in his car in a drive through lane at a Wendy's. Police were called to check on  him and they had to wake him up and get him out of the car and then he failed a sobriety test. So they were in the process of arresting him when he became violent and grabbed a taser from one of the officers and proceeded to shoot it at the officer. The officer then shot him, killing him. These cases were totally different, but the results were the same. A dead man, killed by police. And riots and looting and burning of business, that had nothing to do with the event. The second event could have been handled differently, it's true, but if that individual hadn't of got drunk and passed out in the line of traffic, officers would not have been called. He does bear some modicum of responsibility
3. History is being erased.  History belongs to all of us. If Aunt Jemima, Uncle Ben and Mrs. Butterworth, along with all other BLACK symbols of commerce are removed, only white advertising will be available. If any history or advertising symbol that people find "offensive" is removed, then there will be an uprising against the white people for not using people of other races. I just can't see an end to all this stupidity. And pulling down, defacing or otherwise destroying statues of historical figures because they represent something you disagree with, is wrong.  It is still history, Study it and learn from it and don;t return to the bad parts of it.
4. On a lighter note.  We occasionally get a gopher in our back yard. So far I have been able to catch all of them, over the years. We recently had the latest invasion of a gopher. I tried for a few days to catch this one. I finally did, after my wife saw it coming out if its hole and was able to mark the spot. I set the trap and it was in it the following morning.  Now, this little town we live in is inundated with gophers. Their mounds are every where all over the town. So, I will not be surprised to see in the news something like this;   Town falls into a large sink hole. Officials have determined that the town was undermined by gophers and this is what caused the sink hole.  It is undetermined if the town can be raised out of the hole or not, but considering the cost, it will probably just be covered over and left to the gophers."
AND THAT'S THE VIEW FROM THE DITCH BANK

Sunday, May 31, 2020

A FOLLOW UP

WELL, I POSTED ABOUT THE COVID-19 ALREADY. SO THIS IS A FOLLOW UP POST.
A lot is going on around the world and a lot is going on around social media about the  
virus.  Some say it is real and we need to take strong precautions to prevent it's spread.
Some say it is a sham and we need to ignore the governing bodies edicts. 
Some business owners have protested the governors orders and some have even opened when not allowed too, saying a governors orders are not law and that it is only a suggestion.
One restaurant in our area even opened a couple of weeks in advance of the governor saying they could and put large banner type signs on the side of the restaurant building blasting the governor.  The banners are down now, for the most part, and the restaurant has been given a cease and desist order and the food service license has been suspended. 
Restaurants are allowed to open tomorrow, June 1 for in  house dining with restrictions. It will be interesting to see what happens with this restaurant. The town, for the most part, hopes the license is restored.  The owner has said that he expects he will have to pay some fines.He is prepared to do that. I just hope he is prepared well enough. 
AND MASKS.  There is a lot of controversy on the wearing of masks. Some say it helps. Some say it does not.  And helps or not, there are those that just can't wear a mask regardless of how much it helps. It is not that they don't want to, they just can't.   I went to town yesterday to fuel one of my vehicles.  I had a mask available since the governor has issued an order that ALL will wear a mask when out in public.  Here where I live, some do and some don't.  But at the gas station I pulled up to the third pump in line and at the middle pump there was three women fueling a car. One was fueling the car. One was washing the windshield. One was washing the rear window. One had on a mask. One did not. the one fueling the car had a mask. It was dangling from one ear. A study in contrast.  
As we go into grocery stores, all require a mask, but in some stores, even though the employees are wearing them, about 50 % of the customers are.  It will be interesting to see how this all plays out.
AND FINALLY.  I hear that this virus is just a ploy to ruin President Trump.  Nothing else worked, so lets unleash this virus.  That is so ridiculous as to be laughable.  However, I will say this.  IF SUCH were the case, and it could be proven ( it's not and it can't) those who unleashed this virus on the world killing the economy of dozens of countries not to mention killing hundreds of thousands of people, jail time for those who did this would be too kind.
AND THAT'S THE VIEW FROM THE DITCH BANK